My Beef Board Members 
Select State... 

What is the Cattlemen’s Beef Board? Who serves? How are they paid?

Fill 1 Created with Sketch. Back to Frequently Asked Questions

The Cattlemen’s Beef Promotion and Research Board, usually referred to as the Cattlemen’s Beef Board (CBB), oversees the Beef Checkoff program which was established in the Beef Promotion and Research Act as part of the 1985 Farm Bill. CBB manages the collection of $1 per head on all cattle sold in the U.S. and $1 per head equivalent on imported cattle, beef and beef products. CBB is also responsible for approving the annual budget for its national checkoff-funded programs.

CBB currently consists of 101 members who are individually nominated by certified nominating organizations and appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture to serve a three-year term. Members include domestic beef, dairy and veal producers, as well as importers of beef and beef products.

Nominating organizations represent beef and dairy producers in 32 individual states and six state units, where states are grouped together to form enough cattle numbers for a seat, based on the number of cattle in each state. Importer appointments are drawn from nominations by importer associations. The number of Board members is established according to the number of cattle in the state or region; 500,000 head for the first Board member and 1,000,000 head for each additional member. Importer numbers are established in the same manner.

Members serve without pay, but may be reimbursed for travel and direct business expenses associated with serving on the CBB.