

Wednesday, July 26, 2023 4:00 – 6:00 PM PT Hyatt Manchester Hotel, San Diego, CA Coronado D-E (Fourth Level)

Call to Order

Chair Jimmy Taylor called the 74th meeting of the Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board to order at 4:00 PM PT.

Welcome & Guests

Chair, Jimmy Taylor called on Vice Chair, Andy Bishop to lead in the Pledge of Allegiance. He then introduced fellow officers, Vice Chair, Andy Bishop; Secretary-Treasurer, Ryan Moorhouse; Immediate Past Chair, Norman Voyles, Jr.; CBB CEO, Greg Hanes; and Legal Counsel, Wayne Watkinson of Watkinson & Miller. He thanked them for their continued dedication and hard work on behalf of the Beef Checkoff and for their participation in this meeting. He then acknowledged media member, Cattlemen to Cattlemen was present. Finally, he welcomed and thanked the Chair of Federation of State Beef Councils, Clark Price, and Vice Chair Dan Gattis.

Establish a Quorum

Wayne Watkinson, Legal Counsel, declared a quorum was present to do business.

Approve Agenda

Steve Hobbs moved, and Jason Hitch seconded to approve the agenda as emailed. Motion passed.

Approve Minutes of the February 3, 2023, Meeting

Monte Bordner moved, and Seth Denbow seconded to approve the Board meeting minutes of the February 3, 2023, meeting. Motion passed.

Welcome New CBB Members

Chair, Jimmy Taylor, recognized the 2023 new CBB members: Kristy Arnold, GA, Wendy Bingham, OR, Jay Calhoun, VA, Marsha Corbin, MO, Rodney Cowan, OK, Mike Crosley, NE, Joe Foster, OH, Jack Geiger, KS, Ed Hildenbrand, IN, Don Hubbell, AR, Ted Kinsley, CA, Andrew Kopic, IMP, FL, John Kriese, NY, Jas Livingston, Broadwater, NE, Mitchel Logsdon, KY, Doug McNicholl, IMP, DC, Hayley Moss, IA, Ben Peterson, MT, Terry Quam, WI, Larry Stomprud, SD, Doc Walker, IL, LuJean Waters, FL, Chloe Wilson, TX, and Patty Wood, MO. Chair Jimmy Taylor welcomed them to their first Board meeting and thanked them for their attendance.

USDA Remarks

USDA-AMS, Jeana Harbison gave her remarks on the following:

- USDA's staff update: Kinley Hartman replaced Lacey Heddleston who shifted to another Checkoff organization.
- USDA's goals to better support all agriculture.



Wednesday, July 26, 2023 4:00 – 6:00 PM PT Hyatt Manchester Hotel, San Diego, CA Coronado D-E (Fourth Level)

Legal Update

Wayne Watkinson, Legal Counsel, gave a brief legal update on the following:

- The Administrative Case with USDA remains in progress.
- There is currently no litigation against the Beef Checkoff

CEO Update

CEO, Greg Hanes, reported the following:

- Introduced CBB Staff
- Discussed Board member's travel to CBB meetings.
- Parallel Checkoff discussion by various groups is in progress.
- Board member update Kristina McGee, TN, retired and Gary Daniel was appointed as replacement to finish her term.
- Steve Sothmann resigned, and he will be replaced in December via the normal appointment process.
- Reapportionment: In the proposed rule, USDA went strictly by the numbers and did not include CBB's request that Wisconsin be allowed to keep a seat due to cattle inventory numbers being within the margin of error. As a result, CBB and other organizations sent comments, which are being reviewed by USDA. It is expected the final rule will be released by the end of the month.

Speaker - Emiliano Escobedo

Emiliano Escobedo, Executive Director for the Hass Avocado Board addressed the Board with a prerecorded video and was available afterwards on conference call for Q & A.

Business Meeting

a. Cattlemen's Beef Board Strategic Plan Update

CEO, Greg Hanes gave an update on CBB's Strategic Plan, and the work being done to achieve the goals.

b. CBB Executive Committee Report and Approval of Executive Committee Minutes

Vice Chair, Andy Bishop, gave his Executive Committee meeting report. <u>He then moved for the</u> Board to ratify the following CBB Executive Committee Minutes:

- February 2, 2023
- March 14, 2023
- April 7, 2023
- May 11, 2023
- June 20, 2023



Wednesday, July 26, 2023 4:00 – 6:00 PM PT Hyatt Manchester Hotel, San Diego, CA Coronado D-E (Fourth Level)

Chair, Jimmy Taylor asked for a motion and a second. Andy Bishop moved, and Turk Stovall seconded to ratify the Executive Committee Minutes for the aforementioned meetings. Board voted. Motion passed.

c. CBB Financial Report

Secretary-Treasurer, Ryan Moorhouse, presented the Beef Board's financial statements for the period ending June 2023.

d. FY 2024 Recommended Budget

Secretary-Treasurer, Ryan Moorhouse, presented the fiscal year 2024 Beef Board's preliminary budget information as recommended by the CBB Budget & Audit Committee, the Beef Promotion Operating Committee, and the Executive Committee. The budget components are comprised of the following budgets:

- Authorization Request budget (in other words, the amount that will be available to the Beef Promotion Operating Committee for program expenses) –is recommended at \$36.2 million.
- o Evaluation recommended at \$270 thousand.
- Checkoff Communications Resource recommended at \$200 thousand.
- Program Development recommended at \$641 thousand.
- USDA Oversight recommended at \$550 thousand.
- Supporting Services & Litigation recommended at \$270 thousand.
- State Services recommended at \$205 thousand.
- Administration recommended at \$2.0 million.

The total recommended budget for FY 2024 is approximately \$40.4 million.

Ryan Moorhouse moved to approve the recommended budget for FY 2024, and John Ferry seconded. Motion passed.

e. Checkoff Program Committee Reports

The Co-Chairs of each Checkoff Program Committee as well as the Checkoff Evaluation Committee gave a brief report from their respective meetings as follows:

Consumer Trust Co-Chair – John Ferry
Domestic Marketing Co-Chair – Sallie Miller
International Marketing Co-Chair – Ross Havens
Nutrition & Health Co-Chair – Angie Meyer
Safety & Product Innovation Co-Chair – David Bruene
Stakeholder Engagement Co-Chair- Steve Springer
Checkoff Evaluation Chair – Cheryl DeVuyst



Wednesday, July 26, 2023 4:00 – 6:00 PM PT Hyatt Manchester Hotel, San Diego, CA Coronado D-E (Fourth Level)

f. CBB Nominating Committee Elections

Legal Counsel, Wayne Watkinson reviewed the CBB Nominating Committee election process, and the Board members were dismissed to meet in their assigned region area. Each region completed the election process and presented the following results to Mr. Watkinson:

- Region 1 Ed Hildenbrand
- Region 2 Leon James
- Region 3 Michael White
- Region 4 Angie Meyer
- Region 5 VeaBea Thomas
- Region 6 Katie Cooper

Steve Springer moved to destroy the election ballots, and Mark Sustaire seconded. Motion passed.

Chair Jimmy Taylor announced the election results to the Board and congratulated the 2024 CBB Nominating Committee and thanked those willing to serve.

Other CBB Business

No other CBB Business was needed.

Executive Session

No Executive Session was needed.

Adjournment

There being no further business, <u>Becky Potmesil moved</u>, and <u>VeaBea seconded to adjourn the meeting</u> at 6:00 PM PT.