

Nutrition and Health Committee DRAFT Meeting Minutes 2023 Cattle Industry Convention and NCBA Trade Show

Ernest N. Morial Convention Center • New Orleans, LA • Room 226-227

Thursday, February 2, 2023 • 2:00 – 4:00 PM

Angie Meyer: Co-Chairman (C) Philip Weltmer: Co-Chairman (F)

Purpose Statement:	Advance credible research demonstrating the nutritional and health benefits of beef, and effectively communicate results with consumers, opinion leaders, and stakeholders.
Attendees:	Angie Meyer, Philip Weltmer, Molly McAdams, Stephanie Weiss, Lee Bradshaw, Jerry L Christie, Chuck Coffey, Will Derting, Cory Eich, Jason Frost, Lynn George, Mike Holden, Leon James, Sharon Kickertz-Gerbig, Leslie Kinsel, Louis Lamoreux, Amy Langvardt, Sue Link, Rosie Lisowe, Stacy McClintock, Janine Moore, Ryan Moorhouse, Ivan Rush, Kathy Sautter, Claudia Scott Wright, Turk Stovall, Douglas Temme, Russ Uselton, Becky Walth, Tammy Wiedenbeck,
Liaisons:	Brad Hastings, Officer Liaison; Catherine Huggins and Davis Gidney, Staff Liaisons

Welcome/Call to Order - 2:00 PM

- Angie Meyer called the meeting to order.
 - Member introductions

Approve Agenda and Minutes

- Angie Meyer requested a motion to approve the agenda.
- Sue Link made a motion to approve the agenda.
- Claudia Wright seconded.
- Motion approved unanimously.
- Angie Meyer requested a motion to approve the meeting minutes.
- Lee Bradshaw made a motion to approve the meeting minutes.
- Rush Uselton seconded.
- Motion approved unanimously.

Review Committee Purpose, Initiatives and Ground Rules

Contractor Presentation and Q&A:

- Northeast Beef Promotion Initiative (NEBPI), Beth Stark, RDN, LDN.
- National Cattlemen's Beef Association (NCBA), Shalene McNeill, PhD, RDN

Next Steps and Wrap Up

- Committee co-chairs requested feedback on how to best engage committee members between meetings.
- The next committee meeting will be at the 2023 Cattle Industry Summer Business Meeting in San Diego, California, July 24-27, 2023.

Adjournment – 3:40 PM

- Philip Weltmer requested a motion for adjournment.
- Stacey McClintock made a motion to adjourn the meeting.
- Doug Temme seconded.
- Motion approved unanimously.