Consumer Trust Committee DRAFT Meeting Minutes 2019 Cattle Industry Convention

BEEF

©

Funded by the Beef Checkoff.

Ernest N. Morial Convention Center • Room 243 Friday, February 1 • 12:30-3:30 PM

Janna Stubbs: Co-Chairman (C) VeaBea Thomas: Co-Chairman (F) Jeff Florence: Staff Liaison

Purpose Statement:	Grow consumer trust in beef and beef production to inspire confidence in purchasing decisions through honest and transparent communication.
Attendees:	Janna Stubbs, VeaBea Thomas, Heather Buckmaster, Roy Copelan, George Quackenbush, Kevin Thielen, Jared Brackett, Nick Brander, Trista Brown Priest, Cliff Coddington, Katharine Jackson, Steven Matthees, Bill McLaren, James Schmidt, Don Smith, Michael White, Kathy Creighton-Smith, Dr. Lily Edwards-Callaway, Spencer Ellis, Tom Fanning, Chris Jeffcoat, Ken Krutz, Steven Lastovica, Alan Lyman, Travis Maddock, Nathan Martin, Lucy Rechel, Richard Schrunk, Don Terry, John Thompson, Zachary Yanta
NCBA Staff:	Jeff Florence, Autumn Velez

12:30 pm Janna Stubbs calls meeting to order

12:51 pm Roy Copeland motioned, seconded by **Bill McLaren**, to approve meeting agenda. Motion passed.

12:52 pm Don Terry motioned, seconded by Bill McLaren, to approve summer meeting minutes. Motion passed.

12:57 pm Janna Stubbs covers Committee Agenda Overview

12:58 pm Vabea Thomas – Reviewed proposed FY Strategic Priorities.

1:00 pm Committee members discussed proposed FY2020 Strategic Initiatives from Long Range Plan

1:09 pm Nathan Martin motioned, seconded by **Michael White** to approve FY2020 Strategic Priorities.

1:13 pm Motion passed.

1:15 pm break

1:22 pm Return from break

1:22 pm Eric Mittenthal, from North American Meat Institute (NAMI), presents

AR#1920 - Tactics A, B, C

BEEF ® Funded by the Beef Checkoff.

Consumer Trust Committee DRAFT Meeting Minutes

2019 Cattle Industry Convention

Ernest N. Morial Convention Center • Room 243 Friday, February 1 • 12:30-3:30 PM

- **1:37 pm** Floor is opened for questions from committee members
- 1:38 pm Christie Brown and Kaitlyn Carey, from Meat Import Council of America (MICA) present
 - AR#1900- Tactics A, B, C
 - AR#1930- Tactics A, B
- **1:47 pm** Floor is opened for questions from committee members
- **1:50 pm Audrey Denning**, from American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture (AFBFA) presents
 - AR #1921 Tactics A, B
- **12:58 pm** Floor opened for questions from committee members
- 2:10 pm Chris Barnes and Chase DeCoite, from National Cattlemen's Beef Association present
 - AR#1902- Tactic B
 - AR#1911- Tactics E, G
 - AR#1922- Tactics A, C
 - AR#1933- Tactics A, B, C
- **2:42 pm** Floor opened for questions from committee members
- 2:55 pm Don Smith motioned, and Alan Lyman seconded, to adjourn
- 2:55 pm Adjourn